NEW YORK — Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon and Philadelphia 76ers forward Dario Saric have been unanimously selected to the 2016-17 NBA All-Rookie First Team, the NBA announced today.  Both players received all 100 First Team votes from a global panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Joining Brogdon and Saric on the First Team are 76ers center Joel Embiid (171 points, 82 First Team votes), Sacramento Kings guard Buddy Hield (154 points, 63 First Team votes) and New York Knicks center Willy Hernangomez (128 points, 44 First Team votes).

Brogdon, Saric and Embiid are the three finalists for the 2016-17 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award.  The winner will be announced tonight during the inaugural NBA Awards, which will be televised live by TNT at 9 p.m. ET.

This season marks the first time since the annual honor was first presented 54 years ago that the NBA All-Rookie First Team includes four international players: Saric (Croatia), Embiid (Cameroon), Hield (Bahamas) and Hernangomez (Spain).  The previous record was three international players on the NBA All-Rookie First Team.

The NBA All-Rookie Second Team consists of Denver Nuggets guard Jamal Murray (123 points, 34 First Team votes), Boston Celtics forward Jaylen Brown (106 points, 24 First Team votes), Phoenix Suns forward Marquese Chriss (91 points, 20 First Team votes), Los Angeles Lakers forward Brandon Ingram (83 points, 11 First Team votes) and Dallas Mavericks guard Yogi Ferrell (63 points, 7 First Team votes).

The voting panel was asked to select five players for the First Team and five players for the Second Team at any position.  Two points were awarded for First Team votes and one point for Second Team votes.

Source: NBA

No more articles